The History of the Indianapolis Colts

Have you ever been a fan of football?  The National Football League has been known to introduce numerous great players in the United States. Aside from the fascinating roster of pure talents, each team clearly represents the city’s pride. 

The National Football League is home to thirty-two teams competing against each other to stand victorious as the best football team in the United States. Every year marks a new season for the sport, which is also a fresh start for teams to prove themselves in the field. With this said, it is clear that football is a game that heavily requires teamwork and strategy.  

Speaking of teamwork, one team in the NFL recognized for its excellent synergy is the Indianapolis Colts. Famous for producing top-ranked football stars, the Indianapolis Colts is home to several great players, including Peyton Manning and Andrew Luck. The popularity of these players also helps in gaining recognition for the Indianapolis Colts. Over the years, the Colts remain to be one of the most significant teams in the NFL, building a solid reputation in the league. 

In this article, we are going to look into the fascinating characteristics of the Indianapolis Colts, mainly its origins. 

What is the Indianapolis Colts

For starters, the Indianapolis Colts is an American football team in Indianapolis, Indiana. The was established on January 23, 1953, wherein they played their recent games in Lucas Oil Stadium. The team flaunts its striking colors in the field, which include speed blue, white, facemask gray, and anvil black. 

Jim Irsay is the owner and CEO of the Indianapolis Colts, along with their head coach Frank Reich and General Manager Chris Ballard. Interestingly, the team is known to participate and won various championships over the years. 

Origins of the Indianapolis Colts

We can trace back the history of the Indianapolis Colts to the mid-20th century. From its early years, the Indianapolis Colts was not significant as the team that it is today. The story of the Indianapolis Colts started in 1953, wherein it was initially called the Baltimore Colts located in Baltimore, Maryland. 

The Baltimore Colts started to shine in the league ever since its early existence, mainly because of its participation in the NFL Championships. The Colts dominated the league for several years, but it had its downfall in 1973 when their star quarterback Johnny Unitas was traded to the San Diego Chargers. After this event, the Baltimore Colts had a drastic decline in their supporters, which led to their relocation to Indianapolis in 1984. 

However, the relocation of the Colts to Indianapolis didn’t end well for them during their early seasons in Indiana. During this time, the team struggled to progress in the league with its unstable roster of players. Interestingly, their struggles came to an end during the late 20th century with the help of their notable quarterback: Jim Harbaugh. 

The Colts’ golden days began after the 1997 season. During this time, the team drafted one of the greatest quarterbacks of all time: Peyton Manning. He played for the Indianapolis Colts for thirteen seasons, starting from 1998 to 2010. During the reign of Manning in the Colts, the team made eleven postseason appearances; they won eight division titles, as well as two conference championships.

Moreover, the glory of Manning continued to bring various awards to the Indianapolis Colts until 2011. The era of Peyton Manning came to an end, which marks the start of Andrew Luck’s era. Luck was another notable quarterback that played in the Indianapolis Colts, helping the team dominate the league once more. However, consistent injuries came to the football star, forcing him to retire in 2019 while in his prime. 

Today, the Indianapolis Colts continue to play in the NFL without the star quarterback: Andrew Luck. During the off-season, Philip Rivers signed a contract with the Colts to play as their starting quarterback. With the exceptional talent of Rivers, the Indianapolis Colts continues to be a significant team in the whole National Football League.