7 interesting facts about LaLiga

The appeal of Spanish soccer

Soccer fans from all over the world watch with curiosity the perennial confrontation of the Spanish grands – Catalan Barcelona, as well as Real Madrid and Atletico. The past championship showed the strength of the blue-granates before their opponents in the domestic arena of LaLiga, however, the European Cup season for them was extremely unsuccessful. Ahead of the next championship, let’s take a look back at 7 of the most interesting facts about the Spanish championship.

Pinteresting facts about the Spanish LaLiga


The Spanish championship, known as LaLiga, was started in 1929. The strongest league is the Primera, which initially had 10 teams and since 1997 has had 20 members. The second strongest is the Segunda. The top 3 teams from the Segunda at the end of the championship are promoted to the Primera, while the 3 worst teams from the Primera are relegated to the second league of the country.

The first Spanish championship

LaLiga is not the first soccer championship within Spain. Long before it (since 1901) there was the Catalan championship. It was finally disbanded in 1940. Only LaLiga remains to this day.


The four strongest teams at the end of the regular season get direct tickets to the group round of the most prestigious European soccer tournament, the UEFA Champions League. Also, several teams following them have the opportunity to compete in the Europa League and the Conference League. In the draw, teams from the same country will definitely be placed in different groups. They can then be each other’s opponents at different stages, except for the first round of the play-offs.

The most titled LaLiga representatives

The recognized grands that have won the most trophies in Spain are Barcelona and Real Madrid. They have no equal in terms of the number of fans in the country and in the world. They are located in some of the most famous soccer stadiums in the world – Camp Nou and Santiago Bernabeu, which millions of fans from different parts of the world dream of visiting. And the confrontation between them is always spectacular. One of the regular sponsors of El Clasico is the famous Dutch Fgfox.

Most famous players

Until the recent past, the soccer world annually watched the confrontation between two legends – Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. It was they who epitomized the unprecedented rise of Spanish soccer on the international stage. But the history of Real Madrid and Barcelona also includes many other famous personalities like Hugo Sanchez, Raul and Alfredo Di Stefano on the one hand, and Ronaldinho, Johan Cruyff and Josep Guardiola on the other. The legends of the other teams are not as well known to the soccer fan.

Record holder for the number of soccer matches

The record belongs to a Spanish national team goalkeeper named Andoni Subisarreta. He has played 622 matches in LaLiga. Until today, his record has never been broken by anyone.

Three teams from the Primera

Only three current teams can boast that they have participated in all the seasons of the Primera Division. And they are Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Athletic Bilbao. For more than 90 years, no matter how their internal affairs, the teams have kept themselves in the elite of Spanish soccer.


The new LaLiga 2023/2024 is just around the corner, and it kicks off on August 11, where the opening game will be the match between Almeria and Rayo Vallecano. Pre-season preparation has already begun, and we will closely follow the interesting transitions of players until the last day of the transfer window, as well as waiting for a bright and full of emotions new championship of the main Spanish soccer league. There will definitely be something to watch!